Tags

Two weeks ago on Friday, 16 November 2012, I went for the Down Syndrome scan, the one where they measure the thickness of the baby’s neck and check for the presence of a nasal bone.

Nasal bone – check

Thickness of neck – normal

Alhamdulillah! We had to wake our precious cargo for the scan, cos PC was sleeping (will refer to our baby as PC, precious cargo for now, since we don’t know whether it’s a boy or a girl).

The nurse drew some blood for the blood test as well – 4 tubes full.

P and I were also happy to see that PC was on time in terms of size, I was 11 weeks and 3 days along, and PC was at 11 weeks and 2 days, a day shy, which was ok.

Yesterday I received a message from Dr Suhaiza, she called me earlier but I missed her call.

“Salam, thought you’re in Italy. Yes. Down screen and other trisomies LOW risk, Alhamdulillah. Thought you’d like to know. xxx”

Alhamdullillah indeed, thank you Allah for the blessing. I was so happy. Copy and pasted the message to P and my folks.

Earlier in morning, during the drive to work, I told P, that if everything is ok with PC, and the detailed scan doesn’t pick up anything abnormal we can start preparing i.e. do we get a maid? Do we paint the baby’s room?

But I am sticking steadfastly to my motto “To take it one day at a time” It works best.

