21012007619-medium-small_c.jpg

People usually take their cameras along with them when they travel, go for trips, holidays with great enthusiasm that they’d be able to “capture the moment” or for some to take the “I was there” type of pictures usually in front of famous buildings..streets, signboards…etc

I’m a shutter bug when it comes to taking pictures.. I always try not to take typical pictures. Recently I was hit by a surge of interest in photography.. not to become a professional [though I actually wouldnt mind becoming a pro photographer] but just to be able to take shots that tell a story, that really captures the moment.

I think this interest kicked in after I came back from Ubud which is a photographer’s playground- with all the scenes, landscapes, culture.Plus I’m also very sick and tired of the Raya sitting in a row with everyone smiling type of picture.. [boring!]

So this afternoon I attended a Photography Workshop by Eric Peris..a self taught photographer,was NST’s photo editor for 24 years, a master in black and white photography and have had countless exhibitions both locally and internationally.

I brought along my brother’s SLR [must ge one for myself] and my point-and-shoot Sony Cybershot, I have no idea how to use an SLR [but I did get a taste of it’s power when I tried taking a few shots]

Was hoping the workshop would give me a quick idiot’s guide but it was more about the art and philosophy of photography.. which was  fine with me.

 dsc04126.jpg getting to know the SLR..

 “The image is captured in your mind first not by the camera”..that was one of the first things that Eric said and it made perfect sense.  Shouldnt just aimlessly take shots [ I’ve done that a couple of times ;p]..there has to be an idea behind the shot and a clear expectation of what the final image will be. Patience is key. And nothing comes without practice.

An interesting advise Eric gave was when he said ” the last thing you should read are photography books..you should look at the works of Rembrandt and other classical painters” According to him photography is just mimicking of what earlier painters were trying to do with canvas and oil. He also mentioned that there are no strict rules in photography [good] and we shouldnt be afraid to try new angles and use different styles [very good].I left the workshop eager to practice and learn the basics of taking good photographs- familiarise myself with the apperture,tones [there’s a LOT to learn].

But I dont intend to take masterpieces, just shots that are alive and do justice to the image that it tried to freeze…for coming birthday parties, weddings, holidays, births and more.

Well at the moment I’m still looking out for those photography-for-idiots classes.

*******************************

Some of the photographs that I’m proud of..

Above is a picture that I took on my way to the market in Portobello Road when I was in London early this year (using my N73)

Below is a very old man at a very old courtyard (400 yrs old) that I visited as part of a night Hutong tour in Beijing. (Cybershot)

Click on the pciture to see the full shot

dsc03346-medium.jpg

